guys, lemme tell ya about two of the most terrifying random things happened this weekend.
1) i was crossing the intersection of 4th and alamitos at around 5:30 friday morning. i'll be the first to tell you that area of long beach is a veritable hotbed of jaywalking. (not just me, i swear. everyone's doing it and i just want to be one of the cool kids.) but this time i was actually
in the crosswalk... the light turns green and i start to cross, and this dude coming in my direction's turning left but he doesn't look before turning and just keeps barrelling towards me, so i sprint out of the way just before i died... if i had put out my hand i could've touched the car as it passed. his window was down, and as he passed me he says "duh... sorry..."
what a jerk.
2) yesterday i went and hung out with michelle for a while. we headed to target to shop for hailey's birthday, and were freaking starving. so we hit the weinerschnitzel because it's right there. michelle pulls into the drive through and i ask her what she's doin, are we eating in the car? and she's all oh right, force of habit. sorry. so she drives to the end of the drive through lane, and at the same time an older model red suv pulls up to the driveway to go out to the street. so he's stopped perpendicularly in front of us. meaning we can't go anywhere until he leaves. and i have no idea what the hell we did, seriously. but the late 30s lookin dude gives us a sour look and starts rummaging around in the front seat.
michelle and i assumed he was looking for a cell phone or his favorite journey mix tape or something and thought to ourselves, what an a-hole, you're totally blocking us from leaving. then he rolls down his passenger side window and hucks a brand new large (or whatever fancypants name they give the large) cup of coffee at michelle's car.
what a jerk!
3) this is my favorite story from this weekend. i've had this
penne arrabiata recipe printed out and sitting on my kitchen counter for like a month now. been meaning to make it and it just never happened, you know how it goes. so last night i decided it was time! hooray, i love cooking!
so i got all the ingredients together and sliced up the garlic. preheated the oven for garlic bread goodness, and put some oil in a large frying pan to heat up as directed. threw the garlic in and let it sautee for a bit. tossed in the red pepper flakes, and man this recipe is easy!
the next step... it didn't say anything about getting rid of the olive oil the garlic and red pepper was cooking in before adding the can of tomatoes and tomato sauce... it was like a 1/4 cup of oil... enough to make quite a splash when the liquid from the can of diced tomatoes poured in... lots of that hit the flame from the gas burner underneath, resulting in this:

i swear i haven't yelled a swear that loud since i accidentally put a knife in my hand in art school.
but i handled it like a pro, and the fire dept would've been proud: i turned off the burner, took the pan off the stove and hit the flame good and hard with a towel. it magically went out and i proceeded to soil myself. couldn't really stop shaking after that, because the drawing isn't really exaggerated... the fire was like 2 feet tall and really fucking scary.
josh got to my house from work shortly after that, and we had a good chuckle. and the rest of the meal was a complete success; it really spicy and flavorful and deeeelicious and was probably one of my favorite recipes i've tried out so far. seriously. i can't wait to eat leftovers at lunchtime!
and i
never like eating leftovers.
what an ass!