i was driving down main street in huntington beach yesterday,... no wait, check that. i was inching down main street wishing i hadn't missed the turn for goldenwest yesterday, when i saw this banner. i know it's a little hard to make out but i had to take the pic this morning and the light was a little bad. what you're looking at here is an advertisement for the hello kitty boardfest that's happening at the huntington beach pier on september 2 and 3.upon gazing at this banner, i believe the first thing out of my mouth, an exact quote for the newspaper, was what. the. fuck.
the second thing out of my mouth was a resounding burp.
and then i threw up in my mouth a little. it was gross.
then i hummed to myself. i believe to the tune of prince's "let's go crazy".
this morning my crack team of researchers spent some quality time getting to the bottom of things. meaning i spent 2 seconds typing hello kitty surf fest on google and came up with this... i never quite know how i feel about this kind of stuff. part of me is all hey cool something for the kiddies, get them off their tv-watching asses and out doing something. and part of me is all aw cute hello kitty rocks. and then another part of me wonders what stone cold steve austin looks like in a dress, you know with a wig and all that. but then there's another part of me that just gets really annoyed that hello kitty is getting into the action sports industry.
i mean, it's cool if you wanna have hello kitty skateboards or surfboards or rocketpowered monkey wrenches, but to try and make hello kitty look like she's all badass, check her out she rips it up on the longboard... i don't buy it. leave her alone already. she's supposed to be all cute and innocent and happy with her apples and cupcakes and stuff. just leave her the hell alone!
man now i feel old for ranting about that. today i will buy a rocking chair so i can sit on my porch and yell at the young whippersnappers that go by to turn your durn radios down and get a haircut, you durn tree-huggin hippies!
also of note, josh has a tshirt transfer pic up in the store. fyi, be advised.

12 Comments:
BLAHAHAH man you are right there where the action is! i hate when they give kitty weird look slike this one butterfly thing where she had these high heeled boots on ... i mean her legs arent even that long!
love josh's censored pic
You chicks are crazy. Hello Kitty? `Nuff said.
OH YEAH! i know which one you're talkin about jenn, we shared our love of hating it over a fine glass of wine and a roaring fire...
also, i figured out what my problem with the whole hello kitty thing is. if they wanna do a series of stationery, tees, gum, bags, whatnot starring hello kitty as a surfer chick, that's totally cool and i'm on board. but sanrio is not an extreme sports company, and for them to pretend that they are, it bugs. that's what the deal is. apparently i'm still pissed off about it.
i think it's just a sponsorship thing though... to get girls interested in surfing or whatever. i dont think they're trying to be a sports company ahha
Oh goodness...you know it's a sign of the end of the world when Hello Kitty is surfing! Hmm...I think I'll start a Care Bear invite. :-)
But wouldn't it be cool to have a surfboard with HK on it? OK, maybe not.
no it'd be totally cool to have a hello kitty surfboard! i just don't want hello kitty pretending they're billabong or volcom or some crazy crap like that.
or he'd make like jawanna man and beat the crap outta all of them!
i think you're blowing this all out of proportion!
cuz lemme just add... you can find hello kitty anything in japan.. including feminie hygiene products, but they're not trying to be tampax. if that makes you feel better!
the second they have a tampon convention you better believe i'll be bitchin up a storm about it!!!
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home