the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

7.05.2005

ooof, man! i am beat. not as beat as some filthy dirty birds who got stuck working 17 hour days on the fourth, but beat all the same.

rolled outta bed around 7 and got a veritable crapton of work done on the website yesterday! feast your eyes on the new link to your right, which is the compilation of all sites bearing my sacred seal of approval! my dream is to have that list be millions and millions of names long, people! it's a telethon, supported by viewers like you! let's make it happen!

michelle and i ate the entire bowl of homemade god guacamole for lunch. felt a tad sick after that. too much good stuff, you know what i'm sayin? got into a fistfight with joe over just how much fireworks they had - he says we have $75 in fireworks here! and i'm like dude you guys only spent $55. you have 55 dollars worth of fireworks here. and he's all nuh-uh, look at this label! (pointing to one of two fireworks packages sitting there) it says $50 worth of fireworks for only 30 bucks!

i'm like yeah, chump, so you have $30 in fireworks sitting there! and then i punched him in the face because shut up boy, you're both right!

joe made some insane islands-worthy tropically crazy burgers for dinner - the patties were marinated in teriyucky sauce for 4 hours, and then when he put em on the grill, he put a filthy slice of swiss cheese on there and then a slice of pineapple before serving on ze bun and hot damn, you didn't even have to put ketchup or anythign on there; it was amazing.

also amazing is josh has never had white castle burgers. i bought some at the grocery store this weekend to bring the guy up to speed.

so yes! after dinner, michelle, joe, hailey, jacob, lori and yours ever so truly lit off the billions of fireworks! billions, i tells ya! every time we or one of the neighbors lit off one of those strobelighty looking ones it was the cue to begin robot dancing. also, i wish i worked at a fireworks factory, particularly in the naming department. i want SOOOOO bad to see a firework named "burning sensation". or one called "fire down below" or "if you light this firework you're a dirty slut" would be good, i think. at the end of the hour and a half long explode-a-thon, which ended with a spectacular one we call "la bomba", we still had like 4 boxes of sparklers left and hailey and jacob were still gungho but the rest of us were completely over it. so joe (in a stellar display of this weeks episode of "good things to show your kids", evening edition) put a box full of sparklers in each hand - his lovely assistant michelle (emphasis on the ass, mind you) lit em up and he demonstrated how he could draw huge circles in the air with many sparklers all at once. IT WAS AMAZING!!!

then we went inside and had brownies. even better than the millions of fireworks that were goin' off around us was going inside and having complete silence. the end!

also, please visit danielle's blog and read her july 5th entry for a wonderful example of just how freaking retarded people are. the end!

6 Comments:

Blogger swirlogirl said...

HAHAHAHAH those fireworks sound hilarious. we always got a kick out of our dad going bonkers for fireworks. nothing like blowing shit up to being the family together!

7/05/2005 10:43:00 AM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

man it was some crazy good times! for the final spectacular... it was like 5 fireworks sittin' all together and joe couldn't get em all quick enough, so i went into the street with him to help light em, and just as we're getting ready to do it i remembered oh shit i've got no depth perception so i took too long lighting one of my ones and the other never got torched... i think it went off as one of the other ones burned down? i can't remember. what an ass!

7/05/2005 11:18:00 AM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

hahah you're lucky your ass didnt catch on fire!

7/05/2005 11:29:00 AM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

i know! joe almost got toasted when one of the dumbass neighborhood kids tossed a lit one in the street and it flew in his general direction! i mean, it wasn't intentional or anything... or was it?!!?

7/05/2005 12:27:00 PM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

HAHAHah i always love an OR WAS IT??!!

7/05/2005 01:04:00 PM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

michelle and i's favorite one is "parker lewis can't lose! OR CAN HE!?!?"

7/05/2005 01:47:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home