the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

6.11.2005

okay lemme tell you my niece and nephew are the cutest kids ever, and they will fight your nieces and nephews to the death in a steel cage of cuteness with puppies, kitties, hearts and laserbeams! KAPOW!

last night we went to their preschool's end of the school year show. i didn't realize the school was actually a school school, like a preK through 5th grade school, because from the street you only see the little tiny preschool building. but when you go through the building to the back door and go outside, the place just blows up into swimming pools and playgrounds and elephant rides and laser light shows! insane.

so the show was pretty cool. there were some kids doing a play; to break that up into smaller more digestable chunks, after every scene or so another class would come out and sing a song. which sounds like it should be totally boring. but you're wrong!!! during the play, it was awesome watching how the kids handled the unexpected... as one scene progressed one of the charts and graphs that were hanging on the wall started falling down, and then it crashed to the floor with a mighty plop.

during another scene, there were some kids standing around the corner of the building waiting to go back to their classroom after they sang, and the automatic sprinklers turned on, getting them all soaked. the best part about that shenanigan was the girl who was delivering her lines at that particular moment just stopped midsentence and started craning her neck, trying to see what all the parents were giggling at. it was awesome.

and here's where i tell you my niece and nephew will fight a rabid tiger and subdue it with nothing more than a simple "aw you're a cute kitty let's play tea party together". when most of the classes came out on stage to sing, they were for the most part like the kids in the school scene from pink floyd's the wall. (oh you should rent that if you haven't seen it. it's pretty amazing.) just marching solemnly on stage, singing their songs with not a ton of personality and then shuffling off to eat rice cakes and sort their socks, or whatever boring children do.

not to say these other kids weren't cute.

but they certainly didn't shout "OH THERE'S GRANDMA!" when they came onstage like hailey did. they also didn't proceed to yell hi to everyone else that showed up that she knew, like so: "AND THERE'S GRANDPA! HI GRANDPA! HI STEPH! OH THERE'S DADDY! AND BRANDON!!" and she was just pleased as punch, and laughing and crap. and they hadn't even begun singing yet! her class was the most spirited, i think, the most into doing the hand motions that went along with the songs, the happiest to be on stage...

and then jacob's class came out a little while later, and before they started he was just kinda lookin' around on stage, like he didn't really realize what was going on. so i say "jaaaaaaaaaaacoooooob" a couple of times and finally catch his attention and he looks over and his whole face lights up that we're all there to see him, and proceeds to sing the class' song with his hands scrunching up his cheeks the whole time, making hilarious faces.

my niece and nephew are amazingly entertaining kids, is what it comes down to. that's all i gotta say.

6 Comments:

Blogger Brian said...

Wow!!!! Did anyone videotape this to sell on the interweb?

6/11/2005 09:04:00 AM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

hahah i know where is the multimedia documentation!

6/11/2005 09:40:00 AM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

man i'm poor i gots no digital video camera!!!

joe's got a camera, though, and he caught everything on tape. seriously it was the funniest thing i've ever seen.

funnier than that starburst commercial with the candy bust and lionel richie's "hello" playing in the background.

6/11/2005 10:23:00 AM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

hahahah i love lionel

6/11/2005 07:37:00 PM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

no way bob saget creeps me out!

6/12/2005 05:58:00 AM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

you mean we're gonna throw it up?

6/13/2005 07:24:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home