“Stranger” by The Presidents of the United States of America
You, Lynard Skinnard-hat and
Me, little kitty
Sat across with a velvet jacket
Wild orange hair and dark, dark eyes
I gawked like a twelve-year-old - smitten
Carla the stripper,
straight from L.A.
You seem cool for a naked chick in a booth
Let's be pals some day
In other words,
Put some clothes on and call me
I saw you
It was incredible
Slim, relax,
Fine wine at the (QFC)
On a snowy Saturday night
Black pearls and I swear you were drinkin' beer
You were the redhead behind the counter there
I'm the one who fell off his chair there
You had your dry-cleaning and I think you're dreaming
I saw you
It was incredible
Mumbled these words at you
Unintelligible
My, my, my, my
My, my, my, my, my, my, my
My, my, my, my
My, my, yea hey-hey
Hey who had what time is it?
***************************************
Happy Birthday to Kat! I’m late in saying it because I’m a complete ass!
Oh, Baskin Robbins, how I love you so. Especially when you’re free. I swear free ice cream tastes better than the paid-for kind. All I need now is a Rite-Aid in Oshkosh so I can have some chocolate malted crunch whenever the fuck I feel like it.
It’s been brought to my attention that holy cow, I’ve still got 21 more California songs to come up with. Let me assure you I’m prepared – there’s more than enough songs about home than will fit in those 21 days. And like I said before, good thing I’m not from Rhode Island.
I heard on various news programs today (yes, I’m starting to watch the news again – I don’t feel so freakishly out of touch with reality anymore), and I’m jazzed that the Amber Alert thing got passed, and that it’s a nationwide thing. But it got me wondering about how effective it would be in rural parts of the midwest? I mean, in California there’s those big light up signs on major freeways that let people know about wrecks and traffic jams and such, and when the Amber Alert goes into effect the authorities can use those signs to pass on info as to who they’re looking for, what kind of car they’re in, and so on. There’s no such electronic sign system in the rural parts of Wisconsin. Hell, there aren’t even streetlights on some highways.
And I’m very upset with my newfound knowledge that not every state has a law that says you have to have car insurance. I’m just glad there appears to be no serious damage to my car. I was driving home for lunch today. I stopped at the stoplight at Witzel and Sawyer. This dumbass college kid rear-ended me. The car lurched forward a little and my engine stalled. (that was possibly me in my 2 second long “what the fuck is going on” confusion.) I get out of the car, walk to the back, start checking out my rear bumper. Kid asks if everything’s okay, do I think we have to call the cops, blah blah blah blah blah. I honestly became a bumbling re-re, having never been in this situation before and honestly being a little freaked out. So I told him everything seemed okay, aside from a couple of scratches, but let me get your name, number, address, insurance info, and so on. He writes down his name and contact info on it. I ask him for his insurance info and he says “I don’t have insurance – but I’m working on getting it.” I thought about putting my fist through his face, because not only did he scratch my Chuckles, but he somehow thinks getting insurance in the future will take care of an accident in the past. So he says “whatever the damages are, I can pay for it in cash.” And I thought “what the fuck?!?! You’re a damn college kid! Car repairs aren’t cheap! What, are you selling pot? Is that how you can fucking afford this?!?!”
But I kept my mouth shut. I just told him I’d be in touch, got in my car, and started driving away. And as I turned the corner I realized I didn’t get the make/model of his car or his drivers license number or even his license plate number. It’s been far too long since I was testing for 911 operator back home and became quite good at remembering details and shit. So I swore at myself for a while for forgetting to get this info, because what if it was all a big lie and he’d given me a fake phone nubmer??! I whipped out my trusty cel and called the number he’d written down. Some dumbass guy answered.
“uh, hi, does a Scott live there?” I ask.
“this is him” he says, with me realizing oh hey, it’s a cel phone. Awesome.
“hey, this is stephanie – you just hit my car, and I realized that I forgot to get your license plate number, and I just wanted to make sure this was a real phone number.”
“oh, okay. How is your car running?”
So he seems like he’s on the up and up. Talked to my insurance company, and they say to get a few estimates and then if he doesn’t pay up like he claims he will they’ll file a claim. So I’m taking the trusty automobile in on Saturday morning. And I don’t see anything wrong with it outside of those couple of scratches. And if that’s all Car-X finds, then I’m not going any further with it. Those new scratches kind of blend in well with the nicks on the bumper from when I hit shopping carts on purpose at the grocery store.
That’s my big story of the day. Didn’t realize til much later what the jolt really felt like. It felt like when you’re on the Autopia at Disneyland and one of your friends hits you with their car from behind. Not serious at all.
Seems like the “I’ve got jack shit to write about” phase has run its course already. Thank god.
And TGIAF, dude.
That’s thank god it’s almost Friday to you non-thinking-it-out-for-yourself-types. No P for me this Friday, I’m going to Oblio’s to celebrate Robert’s last day at b’gosh. So I’ll catch ya suckas later.

