“L.A.P.D.” by The Offspring
When cops are taking care of business
I can understand
But the LA story's gone way out of hand
Their acts of aggression, they say they're justified
But it seems an obsession has started from the inside
They're shooting anyone who even tries to run
They're shooting little kids with toy guns
Take it to a jury but they don't give a damn
Because the one who tells the truth is always the policeman
Beat all the nachos
Beat whoever you see
Don't need a reason
(We're) L.A.P.D.
The city of LA feels like a prison
With helicopters overhead and bullets whizzing by
Martial law ain't no solution
Police brutality's just social pollution
Beat all the white trash
Beat whoever you see
Don't need a reason (We're) L.A.P.D.
They say they're keeping the peace
But I'm not buying it because a billy club ain't much of a pacifier
"Protecting your freedom"
Now that's just a lie
It's an excuse for power that's more like an alibi
Law and order doesn't really matter
When you're the one getting bruised and battered
You take it to a jury, they'll throw it in your face
Because justice in LA comes in a can of mace
***************************************************************
Go back and read the first chorus again – isn’t beating nachos a lot better than the n word that was originally there?
Congrats to Adam and Emily on getting engaged! Emily’s new bling is beautiful, even if it isn’t a ring pop!
Do any of you read my little sis Danielle’s blog? Cuz seriously, if you’re not you’re totally missing out. Maybe I like it so much because it mostly feels like big long hilarious letters to me. But I’m sure you’d enjoy it, too.
And because you always have something just for me in your blog Danielle, let me just tell you that I’m not a selfish jerk with the tv – I’m starting this weekend, so expect a tape of wonderful cable-y goodies in a few weeks. Maybe I’ll just bring it with me when I come back in May.
I was thinking about this the other day after Leslie and I discussed the need to formulate plans to see some kickass movies coming out in the next few weeks (wowee wow wow that was a long chunk of crap); it totally freaks me out that I know someone who worked on both movies we all have to see. Cheers to Kat Evans for her work on seX-Men 2, and to Matt Ward for his work on The Matrix Reloaded. I’m totally jazzed for both of you. Rest assured that if any of you out there are in the same theater as me when I’m watching either movie I will have to stay until their names show up in the credits; then be prepared for hearing me make an ass of myself as I hoot and holler when that happens.
Went to Beth Lippert’s show at The Collector’s Gallery on Main Street last night and dude, it was really fun stuff. The show’s up for a week, if you have a free couple of minutes go check it out. And buy me all of her stuff because I don’t have any money to spend on sweet-ass art and I know you do. My birthday’s in July – time to start preparing. When I turn 26 am I still in my mid-twenties? Or does that qualify as late-twenties? Just curious.
I’ve been freakishly productive today. Went to cheezyass aerobics this morning – they rotate teachers on Saturdays, so it’s never the same guy and today it was quite possibly the most gay teacher ever. I mean ever. If Will Ferrell ever went back to SNL and did a bit about being an aerobics instructor (maybe he already has?), I bet he’d look a lot like this guy. Not that Will’s gay, just that the teacher was very hyper and Will-ish. Came home, took a shower, paid bills, got an oil change, ate some lunch, got my car washed (which I admit was totally lame since it’s gonna rain tomorrow but it was so gross I couldn’t take it anymore) went grocery shopping, rammed carts with Jen when I saw her in the produce department, chatted about all kinds of worky jerky shit, came home, used some goo-gone to get the tar-crap off my car, put away all of the laundree that was drying all over my apartment for the past couple of days because the dryer in my building broke while I was doing the wash the other day (not my fault, I swear), and now I’m taking a slack break before I go nuts on the prom dress. Which is going quite swimmingly so far.
Update on the Cingular triplets front: their neighbor’s fun to talk to and is very informative, but I’m not so sure the prom date thing’s gonna happen. There's an outside chance that we may get together to meet when I go back to Ca in May before any decisions get made. It's been a valiant effort on my part so far, don’t you think?
When I was getting my oil changed today I was looking at the guys working on my car and thinking about how my old roomie Chris gives me shit whenever I have anything done on my car because I met a guy at the mechanic’s once last August. Bwahahahaha did that ever turn out badly. These guys today also made me sigh very loudly because oh how I miss those California boys.
Oh my god, I’m watching an SNL rerun and Sting’s playing “Mad About You”, which was a song we did in drumline my freshman year of high school. This song brings back sooooo many memories. I hereby take back every bad thing I ever said about the man. Sting’s pretty cool.
I guess I’ve rattled on enough for the day. Get back to whatever you were doing! Now! Stop reading this shit!!! Or your eyes will turn black and fall out of your head, just dangling there by their optic nerves! You will look silly!!! And people will point and laugh!

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home