the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

12.04.2002

While at Peabody's tonight, I remembered a truly wrong and hilarious website.

Today was extremely unproductive (and fun). The IT department spent almost the entire day upgrading the Macs in our dept to MacOS 10.2. I've always considered myself a very cross-platform kind of girl. Until today. I'm sure (this may just be a pipe dream) after a few days I'll be more acclimated to the freaky-ass-backwards shit going on, but right now I'd almost rather be working on my computer at home. Which is saying a lot. Jen came back to work today, bringing all kinds of fun with her; we made post-it note snowflakes and phony rock show fliers for a while, had spaghetti for lunch (one of two high points of my day), took off for a while to wander through Target and Walmart. Walmart's out of the light up cow I was finally going to get this year, but they still have the camel so I may have to settle for that in my living room instead.

Unfortunately for b'gosh, that about sums up what I did at work today. It's not for lack of trying, I swear - if there was work to be done, I'd do it. I don't think I'm even going in on Friday, Derek told us we could take a shopping day sometime this week as research for next season. It consistently blows my mind just how much inspiration is borrowed from others in the clothing business. If we're going out to research art styles, and those styles are already out in the stores..... we put that out there and some other company copies us... it's just this really weird cycle where you have to wonder who came up with the original idea, and why can't we come up with more? Why does it always have to be inspired by a sweater, hat, jacket, whatever that someone else has already done?

Which brings me to something else that makes me giggle about my job. Go to the store sometime, look at the t-shirts and such in the kids departments up through probably junior sizes. 99.9% of the t-shirts are commemorating something the kid never did. They say something cool like "Varsity Track Team" or "Camp Gapercrombie". (I sooooo wish Gapercrombie was my word, but it's not)... your kid was never on the varsity track team, they never went to a day of camp in their lives. Not that they can't wear the shirt, just that it's funny that they're souveniers of things that the kid will most likely never do.

That aside... not much else today. Did another load of laundree, bought some toothpaste, waited around by the phone for my new eye doc... the bastard never called. And I took my glasses off for him. I feel so used. I even paid extra close attention to the phone so I wouldn't miss the call at the bar. That's it, we're through. From now on, he's gotta pay to see the eyeball freak show just like everyone else.

Woke up a little again on the way home from the bar (Offspring's good for that). Now I finally be sleepy again, so I'm going to bed for real this time.

Ai Bob Richterzong for President!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home