the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

4.30.2006

beware the yo-yo smuggler!!!

okay, so the weekend's winding down, we're hangin out in jenn and john's kitchen talking about various random things, and something came up about cameltoe... john argues that he doesn't know why they call it that, camels don't actually have toes.

to the internet we go, to find out more than you ever wanted to know about camel toes including a barrage of alternate names for the phenomenon.

4.28.2006

sweet sassy molassy!!!

i have to tell you, we've been havin' a time here down south. check out jenn's blog for some of the shenanigans to date...

most importantly, the big thing last night was calling various phone numbers and leaving "i'm garfield and i hate mondays!!!" on their voicemails. especially madonna's confession line; i think we called her like 3 or 4 hundred times.

finally looked it up on google to remember exactly where we got that shit from, and here it is!! prepare to watch it over and over again and crap yourself with laughter!!!

4.27.2006

zagats!!!

hey mofos i'm outta town! josh and i just got in to savannah yesterday and man, i'm gonna punch jenn in the babymaker real soon AH GARUUUNNTEE!!! don't expect no updates from me til next tuesday at least!

4.20.2006

Meatloaf is a weirdo.

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

4.18.2006

in store show and tell

howdy kiddies! so i've been workin' at mighty fine for about 3 months now, meaning some tshirt designs are starting to trickle into stores! just one for now, but expect about 11 more links to shirts i've done towards the end of may:

spider tank at hot topic

plus-size spider tank at hot topic

word around the campfire is lindsay lohan canoodled with ron perlman last week...

seriously, josh's place of business cracks me up to no end - he's told you before, i'll back him up on it, it's more than a little like high school. mostly in how bad the rumor mill works.

like 6 months ago, when josh took the weekend off - i can't remember why, it was possibly when he was sicker than death. went back to work to find out that everyone told everyone else he'd been at a nintendo championship, and that's why he wasn't at work.

look, get your facts straight people, he plays gamecube.

today he went to work and heard that the current word around the campfire is josh and i already got married last november, and that the shindig THIS november is to make it more legit.

again, get your facts straight, we're already 2 legit to quit, if you know what i mean.

meaning WHERE THE HELL DO THEY COME UP WITH THIS STUFF!!?!?

thank you, that is all.

sincerely,
steph lehman

4.17.2006

donny miller rocks my world!

hey there kids, you gotta check out donny miller, cuz his stuff is seriously cracking me up!

almost as good as married to the sea. almost, but not quite.

4.16.2006

guess who's a points whore!

friends, i'm very disappointed that only one person took me up on the earn points for photos deal. but very excited that so much jackassery was included in jenn's entry, which gave her a total of 340 points for today! i'm making the photo deadline monday at midnight, so if you're gonna submit photos you better get on the stick!

check out jenn's steph and josh pics here! aaaaaaaaaaw yeah!

p.s., hope y'all have an awesome easter, and happy birthday to mel!

4.15.2006

testing...

is this thing on?

4.14.2006

just one more thing...

also, since you're one jenn's youtube page anyways, you best check this shit out too! every time fanny goes to clean herself as bunnies do, i lose it. meaning yes, oops i crapped my pants!

GAHAHAHAHAHHAHh stop it!!!!!

okay so apparently my partner in crime jenn has started posting some of our oshkosh wisconsin shenanigans on youtube, and i'm busting a gut watching this stuff and just laughing my ass off!!!

first up, check out me backing my ass up while we were drunk watching the burt reynold's classic hooper one night. i lie, that movie's not really a classic... but steph and jenn sure are!

also, be sure to catch us documenting the day we got to pull a big fatass chilly willy balloon in the city of oshkosh we-wish-we-were-macys holiday parade!

if i could make one request though jenn, i think the video we made on the way to try out for elimidate would really round out your video selections... i'm just sayin... 100 points to you if you deliver on this request within the week...

4.12.2006

wtf, mate?

why don't my titles show up now? wtf, mate?

strike a pose there's nothing to it

pow, mutual funders!

so i've been hittin my photo archives and coming up empty on a really good pic to send josh's mom of the two of us. if you've got a photo of us, email it to me at dehdohdee@hotmail.com and you'll get fifty points - this could be quite lucrative if you've got more than one picture to submit, you understand.

turns out my camera didn't actually have any of us from this last halloween, do any of you scad kids have one on your computer? we probably won't use it for the paper, but i'd really like to blow it up lifesize, frame it, and hang it in the bathroom across from one johnny castle.

also, i'll post the pics i get from you guys here in a future post. say, this weekend? good. great. now send me some pics!!!

4.11.2006

ravioli? holy cannoli!!!

nothing new to report, except that my face is currently melting off courtesy of the kung pao recipe we made for dinner last night! deeeeelicious! also, three cheers to jenn for her spanky new job at byrd cookie company! if she starts working there while josh and i are in town, we may have to go take a tour of the place, wander off into the restricted zone, and put drano in all the cookies!

(please note, if by coincidence some drano turns up in some byrd cookies, it really wasn't us, we're not that kind of jerks. we totally ARE the ones who wrote the word "plop" after byrd on all the cookie tins, though.)

4.09.2006

ooooooooooh snaps josh and i saw the season premiere of degrassi last night and SNAKE HOW COULD YOU!! you know that they call her spike because she'll drive one right through your eye for wronging her! and way to go silent bob for encouraging the cheerleader to explore alternate lifestyles...

p.s. based on a past episode of degrassi, the new word for ghonnorhea is G-FUNK.

not much else to say except if you're outta town, and you're comin' into town for the upcoming wedding, in the next couple of weeks expect to get something downright hilarious in the mail.

also, josh is a chump for not letting me tell his mom to use the pic of us at halloween (josh as a zombie candy vendor and me as elvira going as the bearded lady) for her newspaper announcement! i gotta find that pic somewhere and post it here, it's classic.

4.08.2006

pssst.... just between you and me, tell me your favorite breakfast cereal and get 20 points!

one of the reasons i've been aching to update the website lately is i've felt like the longer i don't have links to sites like married to the sea and chuck norris facts... the longer i don't tell you people about this stuff, the more i will go to hell.

married to the sea, especially. i'll go for about a week without looking at the stuff since they post every day, cuz then when i come back a week later there's a whole mess of new clipart images they've captioned, and by the time i've seen all the new ones i've wet myself from laughing so hard. seriously, it's embarassing.

and it makes me want to come up with jackhole captions for everything i work on, even at work. who says no one will wear a shirt that says oops i crapped my pants on it?!?

4.07.2006

here's a little poem i wrote tonight while waiting for triple a to show up to jump start chuckles, the happy weenmobile clown car of doom:

some people love meth,
some people dig pot.
my drug of choice is leavin my lights on
and getting stranded in the parking lot.

*****

you gotta love the triple a. you just gotta. and you also gotta love cars that aren't considerate enough to yell "HEY FUCKWAD, YOU LEFT YOUR LIGHTS ON YOU DIPSHIT!!!" as you get out of the car and proceed to wander around in target for an hour and a half just looking around, not really buying anything important except for a couple of naughty naughty pets to give hailey and jake for easter.

I heart banana laffy taffy!

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

4.06.2006

kurt is a god among men, and i'll tell you why.

i am currently blogging. FROM MY COMPUTER. the networking issue is solved! and for the sake of anyone who may be on google trying to find the same answers we were looking for before kurt shared his genius across the phone lines, here's a bunch of technobabble that hopefully includes any keywords anyone on google would use:

porno.

no wait, there's more. josh and i both have dell pcs running windows xp. we have verizon dsl, and the following router: linksys 2.4 gHz broadband router, model number BEFW11S4. when we hooked up the dsl to josh's computer, internet worked fine. when we hooked the dsl up to the router and then josh's computer, it was a no go. and my computer got zero internet whatsoever. we are not a networking people!

so here's what kurt had me do: it took all of five minutes, and i didn't have to learn any networking mumbo jumbo.

on the computer where internet was working, we hooked up the dsl to the computer. went to start and chose run. in that box, type cmd and hit enter. brings up an old dos-looking box. in that box, type: ipconfig/all

then take the cord that was running from the dsl to the computer, and make it run from the dsl to the router. get your other network cable and run that from the router to the computer. in the dos box on the screen, type ipconfig/all again. check your internets, it should be good now.

if so, move on to the next computer. run a network cable from the router to that computer. go to start > run, and type cmd in that box so you get the dos looking crizzap on that computer, too. type ipconfig/all and hit enter. try your initernets again.

again, if you found this entry because you're having network issues and this didn't work for you, don't ask me why. ask kurt, he's the technology wizard!

and now, because i have internets on my own computer now, i can start updates on the website! let's celebrate by giving the first person to comment on this post 200 points!

4.05.2006

dammit, i forgot the most important thing this moring!!!

TODAY!! 2PM PACIFIC TIME! you get your ass onto the internet, cuz my sister danielle's getting interviewed on her college's internet radio station!!!

check it out!!!

we're actually not sure when the interview time really is, she just has to be at the station by 2pm, pacific standard time. (that's 5pm for you east-coasters!) so just turn it on and wait for the perlo, you won't be disappointed!

what are you doing tonight?

if you live in southern california and your answer isn't "hey steph i'm going to that kinda run down theater across the street from south coast plaza, the fancypants mall where marissa supposedly stole that fancy watch from in season one of the oc, and i'm gonna go see young frankenstein on the big screen at 8pm..."

if your answer isn't that, i don't wanna hear it and we're probably not friends anymore. i'm so excited i just peed my pants.

no wait, that was just because i was too lazy to get outta josh's chair and go to the bathroom. note to self, it's time to switch chairs.

4.02.2006

taxes are finally done! pow!!! i'm gettin 360 from the feds, and paying 60 to california, so it's not so bad this year, considering the freelance stuff was real good to me last year.

i'm still bothered that i can't figure out the network thing. but this sure cheers me up. I CAN'T WAIT FOR SIDEWALK ARTS!!!

bernie casey 4 lyfe!!!

4.01.2006

internet, you've failed me. i've always been able to find answers how to fix anything using your lovely google search. but now i need to learn how to get my computer to work with josh's so he can stop hogging all the verizon dsl and gimmie some, and the router just aint doing what it's supposed to. and if there's something wrong with the settings or whatever i cannot figure out what the fuck i need to do to fix it, because i'm not a networking kind of gal, you understand. so i turned to you, oh internet, and you just laughed at me and told me to call the geek squad.

but i don't wanna call the geek squad!!! they're spendy, and they'll make our place smell like cherry pez and old comic books!

wait, maybe that's not such a bad thing.

i DO need to figure out this networking issue, though. and if i can't, i'm gonna punch josh in the nads the end!!