okay so our ceramics teacher, she gave us a piece of bamboo last week, right? it looks like a slightly curved board, about 3" x 5" or 6". this week we're supposed to come up with something that will utilize that piece of board once it comes out of the kiln.
if you ask me, i think someone was cleaning out their junk drawer last week and found some random stuff she had no use for, and is now passing it off as a ceramics project.
i'm going to just make a nice, even slab of clay. and the teacher will ask me what it is. and i will put my wood on top of it, and try so hard to keep a straight face when i say "it's my bamboo plank holder."

6 Comments:
Could you not save time and just put your lump of un-modelled clay onto the bamboo...And call it your bamboo lump of clay holder???
That way you would get most of the lesson free to make something worth while :-)
there i go again making things more difficult than they need to be!
apparently sometime between last week and this week our teacher decided this project was crap, and taught us how to make coil pots instead. which was way, way cooler.
she wanted us to make something spherical by coiling two cereal bowl shapes and joining 'em together, but josh and i, we're busy super-important people who can't be bothered with two sphereical shapes so we each made half of the project. that's how team kickass works.
we also got to glaze stuff last night, and i can't freaking wait to see how the meat whistle looks when it's done. it's gonna be amazing!
i made a pink pirate whistle,,weeee
man i can't wait to get that crap back!
i just realized my steak is gonna have unshiny bones cuz i put regular glaze on it instead of underglaze and now i can't do shiny on the bones and put it back in the kiln. crap.
I just like to say kiln.
Kiln. Kiln. Kiln.
i'm feelin a bit scottish today - KILT KILT KILT!
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home