the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

10.20.2005

this morning i left for work at my usual 630am and headed down 7th instead of 4th because i needed to get gas. as chuckles the happy weenmobile clown car of doom rumbled down the street, it decided it would be a hoot to try a new trick it learned and turned the check oil light on very, very briefly. about two blocks later, the fucker flashed it on again. i wondered if that's what's supposed to happen when your car is 1500 miles overdue for an oil change. when i got to the gas station, i figured i may as well pop the hood and check the oil level. and i thought i must still be pretty sleepy, because when i pulled the dipstick out it was bone freakin' dry.

WTF? bone dry!? i knew my car leaks power steering fluid all over the place, but since when does it leak engine oil, too?!?! GARRRRR!!!

so i buy a quart of oil from the friendly neighborhood gas guy situated behind his bulletproof glass. we chat a bit as he slides the quart of oil and a fancy paper funnel through the metal please-dont-rob-me drawer. i get back to my car to pour the oil in, and let it sit for a while. check the dipstick again and it just barely raised the level. HOW MUCH OIL IS IT GONNA TAKE TO FUCKING FIX THIS!!! i wonder to myself, and then aloud as i buy another quart from the attendant. a helpful lady standing behind me in line said hey, give it some time before you pour that in, it's gotta settle. so i waited for a while, and the level on the dipstick did indeed rise. but i still had to pour that entire second quart in, and half of a third, and now i have to keep on top of that leak as well. THIS STINKS!

but - and this is a very real, serious question - since all of the oil in the car leaked out, does this mean i can skip that oil change i was overdue for? god i hope so.



in other much sadder news, dallas cook from the surburban legends was in a hit and run car accident last night and didn't make it. i was trying to find their cover of the gummi bears theme song for you to listen to because it's one of my favorite songs, but they don't seem to have it available on their website anymore. allegedly they have tunes on their myspace page but that doesn't seem to be comin' up for me for some reason...

3 Comments:

Blogger Brian said...

I am sorry, but you should get the oil change. They will flush the system and get all the crap out. If you went low, there could have been scorching of the oil so you should probably have it looked at. Are you sure they put oil in it last time?

10/20/2005 03:06:00 PM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

ahhahaha man look out cuz with cars i find when it rains it pours and something else bad may happen soon. i need an oil change badly as well.

10/20/2005 08:29:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Dude, just bite the bullet and get the oil change. I know, I know, I hate doing it too. I always feel like they are trying to fleece me out of hundreds of dollars telling me I need a new flange and that my hoses need tightening and stuff.

But just go. After a while you'll get to know your car better, and you won't fear it. I live in fear of my car falling apart beneath me as much as the next person. But regular maintenance will prevent that. Besides, the third or fourth time they try to convince you to let them flush your radiator system, you can just tell them you had it done last time. They'll quit pulling that bullshit after a while.

10/25/2005 11:51:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home