the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

11.23.2004

it boggles the mind how picky some people are.

let's just say i'm glad it's only a 3 day workweek. otherwise this post would be chock full of damn hell ass swearing.

11.22.2004

glorious glorious dingdongs. how i love you.

and apparently, allegedly, they're even better after freezing 'em.

so i popped a couple in the icebox for tomorrow's enjoyment, and plan to keep you constantly updated on DingDong2004 as breaking news develops.

11.21.2004

okay... if you can tell me for real what "she's got me rollin' in dirt in a white t-shirt" means, i will give you thirty billion dollars and a handmade potholder. it's from this song that josh gracin dude from the first american idol sings and i swear we hear it on the radio like all the time but hell if i know what that line means.

here's the lyrics in their entirety...

my answer to this riddle was rollin' in dirt must be another classy way to say playin' pocket pool, if you get my drift.

11.20.2004

okay so i only get partial credit for the grease theme song travesty from a few days ago. i finally got out my copy of the soundtrack and the writing credit goes to b.gibb, which is one of the beegees. the other half of the point goes to jenn because frankie valli did indeed sing it, that rat bastard.

frankie, not jenn.


well, maybe jenn, too.

11.19.2004

i so totally fell of the wagon with the posting. and the staying sober. because i'm a raging alcoholic. because if there's one thing broadway goes for, it's booze and dope!

i know you've been waiting on the edge of your seat, literally throwing up on yourselves in anticipation, so here's what's been going on:

did i talk about the crap going on with the laundree? yeah it's high drama of the oc variety, so strap yourself in and here we go!

a few weeks ago, i washed my bedding. and one of my supercool bedsheets ended up getting mixed in with a dark colored blankets load. and it turned really really pink. kind of cool looking, though, like an overdyed sheet. so i was gonna leave it.

fast forward a week or two, and i threw that sheet in with my other light colored laundree cuz i didn't think that pink crap would bleed onto other stuff... chalk another one up for Scatterbrain McDorksalot, cuz i turned all my socks and undies and undershirts and towels and whatnot pink. lovely.

so last weekend, after finding a recommendation for it online, i picked up a box of rit color remover from the mart of wal. spent literally HOURS going through the de-pink-ifying process, to find everything only slightly less pink. the verdict is it works better on natural fibers than synthetics - i have a slip and a couple of bras that are permanently pink. and not a cool pretty kind of pink, but a "i'm a dork who can't do laundree" kind of icky pink.

this weekend i will be making a trek to the oc swap meet to buy more of those fancypants socks with the different colored toes that i love so much, since i successfully jacked up all my old ones. the good thing about all this is i like when i get excuses to go out and shop. hooray for everything.

did a four/ten at work this week and took a mini vacation to redlands from tuesday night through thursday morning. traffic on the way out there was uberlame, it took about 2.5 hundred hours to go 65 miles, which i think works out to an average speed of -3 miles an hour, give or take. was totally worth it, got to hang with some of josh's relatives and have good 'za and laughs and crap.

slept in wednesday, then josh, ned and i went out and shot skeet.

lemme say that again.

i shot skeet.

with a 20 gauge shotgun.

it was neato.

now rest assured, the first 20 times or so i was really only just shooting at skeet, and getting sympathetic pointers from josh the old dudes at the range. but in the last couple of tries during that first round, i did hit 2. and then when we did another round i hit like 10 or something out of the 25. not too shabby for a dork of my caliber...

and by caliber i mean both the quality of their character and the size of their barrels... it's a homonym... forget it.

and of course josh hit almost all of his, and of course i kicked him in the nads for that later.

so redlands was good times, totally worth the crazystupid traffic all the way there and back. thursday morning it took another 2.5 hours to get back to work from redlands, and since i was doing a 10 hour day i didn't get away from the cubbyhole until 7. busted ass on over to michelle and joe's for some oc-watchin goodness and then completely crashed on the couch during the first ten minutes of watching elf.

and that brings us to today... currently i'm wastin a little bit o time before headin home from ye olde office o crap, and then there will be fun times of the l word variety to be had.

do you know about the l word? my favorite one is lymph node, i think, with lambada being a close second. so the l word is this uberdramatic lesbian drama on showtime, right? and it's out on dvd, so we all thought it'd be a hoot to rent and watch it together. michelle and i walked into the video store last week to pick it up and didn't realize until we got to the counter that oh, man, long beach has quite the homosexual community. and we were two chicks with supershort hair renting the l word together.

we are so gay.

11.13.2004

the beegees must be an acquired taste...

i remember when i was like eight or nine or so, when i was obsessed with grease and its soundtrack, how i used to always fast forward through the theme song cuz i thought it was totally gay.

or maybe i just got lame as i got older, and that's why i like it now.

theories on this phenomenon are welcome.

p.s., i'm feeling kinda under the weather... not cooking related i'm sure, but if i passed a bug on to any of my dinner guests please accept my apologies, along with this squishy pillow that i slapped a virgin logo on to win the game.

i had some kids over for veggie lasagna, and it turned out pretty good - i never made something as involved as lasagna before! if you're feeling adventurous, you should check out the recipe... just remember to thaw out the spinach before you start cooking so you don't freak out halfway through the process.

and when i grow up i wanna be a rebel billionaire, except for the part where i have a retarded reality show. i really just want the billion dollars, please.

11.11.2004

i am hungry. that is all.

11.08.2004

slowly but surely, the new webdesign's comin along...

look at the buttons on the left - do they get the point across allright? the text next to them is what the rollover will say, the parenthesis is what area you get when you click on that button.

also of note, that orange pattern in the background'll change for each area.

so... um... whaddaya think?

i really hope the puddle under my car when i left work was leftover from the rain and not another random fluid leak!

11.07.2004

so i can't keep my mouth shut, i totally slipped and told ann what i made her for her birthday. what a maroon! now i can't keep it for myself, i really do have to give it to her! next on the knitting todo list is a special hat for a special girl. very special. like special ed. but not the one from crank yankers, just in general - she rides the short bus, you know what i'm sayin? awwwwwww yeah.

p.s. go out and buy yourself the new cake cd, it's almost as good as actual birthday cake. meaning it's pretty awesome.

11.06.2004

you heard it here first folks, elvira was in pee wee's big adventure!

best two dollars i ever spent:



it was like a heavenly light shining down from heaven when i saw it at an estate sale this morning, sitting next to a vhs copy of the "elvira mistress of the dark" movie. (yes, i bought that, too. it was like a buck, couldn't pass it up)

and i was superjazzed about the photo, but josh just about crapped his pants when i told him about it, so i think i'm gonna pass it on to him. cuz he was superSUPERjazzed. you see what i'm sayin?

what else was i gonna say today? ooo, in about six months when the odometer rolls over to the magic number i'd like to have a "my car's got 250,000 miles on it" party! think about it, we could all stand around telling our favorite stories of riding around in my car - and then to top it off i wanna bust a bottle of champagne on it and have it completely fall apart. i am a classy, classy lady.

in other news, i got a hairscut today and then came home and dyed the shit outta it and i feel all pretty and girly again. why this is news i have no idea. just play along like i'm interesting and i'll give ya five bucks.

11.04.2004

folks, save your precious time and money and skip seeing team america.

what a piece of crap! don't get me wrong - my movie diet is chock full of fun cheezy movies and i like it that way. this wasn't fun cheezy, it was lame. and boring. and dragged on too long.

all this is saying a lot from someone who is so easily amused.

in other news damn i love halloween. it always makes me think of that old garfield halloween special where garfield and odie sould start talking about something related to halloween and then they'd start chanting "candy candy candy candycandycandycaNDYCANDYCANDYCANDY!!!!! went trick or treating with a whole mess of kids sunday night - never really got to celebrate the holiday with hailey and jacob and that was awesome good times.

you know what i'm doing right now? running out the clock at work. la la la, type type type. in ten minutes i get to go home and prepare myself for the new season of the o.c.!!!

what else did i have to talk about? hm... turns out i'm leaving right now so suck it!!! later gaters!

11.02.2004

okay here's why i can't wait for the election to be over.

when i get home at 5:30 in the morning sometimes, there's nothing scarier than hitting the button on the answering machine and hearing arnie's booming voice reminding me that he's the guvenah and to go out and vote. it's scary scary crap.

i voted for more unicorns on the evening news and two bags of candy corn for each american, just so you know.