the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

11.21.2003

today has been truly fucking rad.

woke up late late tater tot this morning because i took the day off for eyedoktoryness. made real breakfast, eggs and toast, instead of instant oatmeal done in a minute crap... just kinda sat around on the couch relaxing and watching bad wisconsin morning shows.

went to the eyeguy. found out they'd accidentally scheduled me to go to the neenah office instead of the oshkosh office. so i booked it up to neenah. and i don't like the helpy helpers as much at that office. my actual doctor is very nice and extremely informative all the time, but his helpers in oshkosh are cooler.

and today was all good news.

turns out my understanding of how things progressed was just okay, and that some of what i thought was going on was a little off: the eye problems have been a combination of central serous retinopathy and a type of uviitis called multi-focal choriditis. the bigass blind spot in the left eye is only partly because of scar tissue from lasar treatments - for the most part the multi focal chlorine pool happens in lots of places in the retina, and i had a particularly aggressive case of the disease. i'm no medically informed person, i leave that to maria, but from what i got out of the pictures i was shown today it essentially makes little parts of the retina bubble up, like when you get a piece of paper wet, and it kills nerve endings. which is why there's so much blind spot.

it makes more sense now that this happened - while both disorders have fairly unknown causes, the mfc usually happens to young women with nearsightedness and hey looky that's me. it may not ever happen in the right eye (cross your fingers for the next 80 years please because i really don't want to go through this ever again), and it typically attacks the eye for a few years and then just stops, goes dormant, takes a nappy nap, hibernates, whatever.

the good news is the eye seems to be at that stopping point. it's been completely stable, no new changes, for two years now. thank god. seriously.

i was in a really great mood when i left the eyeguy's office today, something that hasn't happened in the almost four years i've been visiting retina doctors.THIS IS FUCKING AWESOME. it's just a complete relief; i'm gonna be fine. short an eye, sure. but i'm fine.

out of curiosity - maria, what does code green mean? i head them page that for icu. it sounded serious.

came home and oh man got here just in time to see the bold and the beautiful. the show never ever disappoints.

went thrifting with jenn for a while. picked up a cool new chearleadery type sweater in stacey middle school colors. go team, wee hoo. also found a visor - it's no show me your boobs foam rubber classiness like the one lia and mercy had from vegas, but it's still pretty fun. it's gonna be my new party hat.

by party hat, i of course mean i will get drunk and throw up on it and then toss it out a window because it smells.

came home, got ready to make some dinner. annnnnnnnd the phone rings. and over the course of the call i was crying and trying not to crap myself and pleading with the stranger on the phone and just feeling really bad that this thing he was talking about had happened.

afterward, while i was telling my sister's answering machine how much i'd screwed up and how sorry i was and how i was gonna do everything i could to fix it my cel rings.

and it's my sister.

and about 30 seconds into it she busts up laughing and it was all the BIGGEST FREAKIEST PRACTICAL JOKE EVER. i swear i was trying to figure out how this was going to affect my art career, how it was gonna affect my sister and her family, and so on and so on. there's so much to tell - email me or ask me in person, it's a long really really hilarious story. that i will possibly write about later.

anywho, ate some dinner, went out to look for xmas gifts and such, went grocery shopping.

came home and had art night. pulled a bunch of prints on tshirts for the sisters and the neice and nephew, and made my brother brandon's xmas gift. which is genius. the finger is kind of a sacred ritual in our family - usually given to each other the second our mom turns her back, like a secret handshake. and when she catches us doing it she acts offended like she should, but sounds like she knows it's something that will never ever die with us. because sometimes there's nothing funnier than the middle finger. so for xmas this year, i got one of those preserve your kid's hand in plaster kit.

and i'm going to give brandon the finger.

and now i'm going to go eat some ice cream and go to sleep. the end.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home