the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

4.16.2008

i heart roller derby like no ones business

no lie, roller derby rules. i don't know how many of you i told, but i was actually seriously considering joining the oc rollergirls and actually went to one of their practices and it. was. AMAZING. so much effing fun.

but the time involved and the money involved makes it a no-go, cuz i already spend ungodly amounts of time on artsy fartsy adventures.

but that don't mean i can't get rad skates! i just ordered a pair of skates for rollin' around long beach and i can't wait for em to get here! sin city skates is outta arizona, so maybe possibly they'll be here by the weekend? i hope i hope?

i got these ones. ivanna s. pankin says they can put the aerobic outdoor wheels on those skates instead of the indoor wheels they come with for no extra charge so that's what i did hooray!

also, a bunch of us went to the l.a. derby dolls match last weekend and holy effing crap so much fun to watch! AND we saw drew barrymore AND ellen page at the match! a bunch of times! and after the match as we were leaving the parking lot we saw drew barrymore again and our buddy jay kept yelling 'MS. BARRYMORE I LOVE YOU!!!' out the car window. it was amazing good times.

on tap for today - buying tickets for the next derby dolls match!

i can't wait to go skate!

3 Comments:

Blogger swirlogirl said...

lulz. when john and i watched that ATL movie or one of those afrocentric rollerskating movies we were all about getting some roller skate so we could practice rollder disco in the skreets. i'm still waiting on that

4/16/2008 06:52:00 PM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

ahahahahaha i never saw atl but i think the movie you're thinkin of is rollbounce!! (which i haven't seen yet... but kinda hope i catch one of these days on cable...)

4/18/2008 12:21:00 PM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

yeah any movie based on rollerskating is brilliant. see: xanadu

4/20/2008 06:36:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home