the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

1.31.2006

no lie, i had a dream this morning that freddie kreuger was in and i made myself wake up because it was too gorey.

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

1.30.2006

i just wanted you to know i watched the elvira movie again this weekend and seriously, i love it so much i punch hobos when it's on! did you go vote for jenn's shirt yet? DO IT!!!

a quick little post from work to say CONGRATS! to my girl jenn and her recent threadless submission!

your assignment is to go vote for it so it gets printed and she gets the fame and fortune she so rightly deserves!

check out her awesomeness here!

1.29.2006

oh my lord, i haven't posted since tuesday? i hang my head in shame.

so here's two things that are new on my end:

1. started the new job with mighty fine, and so far working there has been... well... mighty fine. i've done more art for them in this one week than i have in the entire year and a half i spent at fortune fashions, and i'm a very happy camper as a result. lovin' what i'm doing. but still adjusting, obviously, to gettin on the net to visit with you yokels whether it's during breaks or after work. josh's mom's been in town, and we're usually hangin' with her until bedtime so i may or may not still be sporadically online for the next couple of weeks.... please don't kill me...

2. driving on the 5 and 10 freeways in the mornings kinda sucks! so this wednesday i figured hey, i know how to get to mighty fine on surface streets from ffi, how about i try that? and it went well until about two blocks away from work when i had a tiny fender bender. what's that you say? AGAIN?!! didn't i just have one like 9 months ago!?! yeah i know. believe me, i know. technically it was my fault because i hit her, but it wasn't my fault, you know? we were at an intersection, she was in front of me, turning right, she slammed on her brakes for no reason and i just couldn't stop fast enough. we're both okay, our cars are only minor scrapes. what a pain in the ass, though.

3. i'm sitting here in my jammies with a ton of shit on a list of things to do today and i should go get started but it's cold outside and the next thing i have to do is go to the grocery store. IT'S COLD OUTSIDE!!! i know 40 isn't cold to some of you, but it's arctic tundra to me. i just might die of frostbite.

how did i survive two winters in wisconsin? i may never know.

oh wait, jenn and i watched burt reynolds movies. that was it.

1.24.2006

after not doing lots of art at work for so long, and then barrelling straight into it all day long for two days straight... the new job feels kinda like coming home. i love it.

and it's gonna kick my ass, with the no internet and no cell phone. things to get used to again... expect more evening posts from me for now. i gotta go, but i just wanted to say hi!

1.23.2006

Aaaaaaa! I heart my job!

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

1.20.2006

nothing goes better with a new beginning than a cold mt dew and outkast's hey ya!

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

anyone who's anyone is on myspace it seems, including me. and i have to tell you, i'm completely addicted to coming up with new and retarded answers to the high-schoolish surveys that get circulated.

i just finished filling one out, and the answer to these two questions made me laugh so hard i have to post it here for no other reason than to know i'll be able to read it years from now and laugh all over again.

**********

A N S W E R T R U T H F U L L Y !!

1. Do you like anyone?

sure do

2. Do they know it?

i think josh figured it out when i cut him with a knife last night. i stabbed him in the hand and screamed I LIKE YOU MUTHAFUCKER!!! and he's like dude, we've been going out for a year and a half, i already know that. then i drove him to the emergency room, slowed down, threw him outta the car and sped away because that's what true love is - dumpin your boy at the hospital and not getting caught. if he knows what's good for him he'll tell him he fell down some stairs.

okay so it's my last day at work, right? we are a mere hours from the term "between jobs" and i'm lovin it! there is absolutely no work on my desk, i'm just waiting for sam to get in so i can get a cardboard box and pack up my desk...

by the by, i am taking home my pirate picture. i will take it home, dust it off, spraygloss the fuck outta it, put it on my wall, and make out with it.

just kidding.

i probably won't get around to the spraygloss.

so what's a girl to do with her last few hours here at work? and where, and where - duh duh duh - IS THE BATMAN.

he's at home, washing his tights!

i don't have a whole lot else to say except that it's friday, i ain't got no job, i ain't got shit to do! twenty points to the first person to say what movie that's from.

1.19.2006

Okay somebody tell me i didnt just see a commercial for a remake of 'when a stranger calls'!!!

--

Mobile Email from a Cingular Wireless Customer http://www.cingular.com

1.18.2006

for about a week now josh and i have been obsessing over jiminy glick in lalawood and planning on making a wacky tshirt design to commemorate the awesomest line in the movie:

NOBODY GIVES JOHNNY STOMPONADO HIS WALKING PAPERS!!!

and then wondering if that whole lana turner/johnny stomponado part of the movie was a true story. turns out it is!

i don't know about you josh, but i'll finally be able to sleep tonight.

1.17.2006

dude i don't know what it is about spinach that is sooooo tasty, but sometimes i'll get the bag from the fridge and eat it like potato chips.

and let me tell you folks, every single time i have to go to the post office on 3rd and long beach boulevard i die a little inside. because i don't care who you are or what your business is, there is NO REASON an entire family of twelve needs to be crowded around the one passport window. especially when the only thing some of the adults were doing was holding infants. you guys, holding infants - how about you take the other kids just milling around your entourage and leave the cramped little lobby area?

every time i go to this post office it's completely slammed, millions of people, line out the lobby door, leaving me standing in line with thoughts of paying a visit to the stockade.

i appreciate that to help alleviate this problem, the post office has put in one of those freaking amazing awesome automated postage machines where you can buy postage of all kinds with your atm card. the best thing about these machines is that almost no one uses them. it's like those check-yourself-out lines at the grocery store; new technology is scary. there was a chick in line before me at that machine this afternoon, and it was obviously her first time using it because 1) she was there for five hours and 2) every single keystroke she did was hit a full minute after the last. click........click........click......t-t-t-t-today, junior! it's just keying in a zip code!!! finally, five days later and much skinnier from skipping all those meals, i got to use the automated postage system. it printed the first label out fine. and then decided to stop working. meaning i have to now get in this five hundred person long line for the counter. after the five year wait at the machine.

it was at that moment that i finally understood what going postal meant.

except that i think the saying only applies to people who work at the post office. so never mind, i still missed the point of that saying. but i didn't miss the point of this rant, which was this: i was just at the post office for a full hour, waiting in various lines, to mail three small packages. instead of going to the gym afterwards as originally planned, i figured what i really needed to do was come home, watch peoples court, and eat some candy.

1.15.2006





in case you didn't know, josh and i heart johnny castle. you know, patrick swayze's character from dirty dancing. cuz no one puts baby in the corner! NO ONE!!! and last october, when we went to visit south carolina for halloween festivities, trav and duane had laid out this awesome dirty dancing movie poster on our bed, personalized (counterfeitedly) by one johnny castle, thanking us for the summer at kellermans - it was the time of his life! (except that he signed it "i was the time of my life", which was way awesomer anyways).

i feel like this is the best picture to put up celebrating two things: we finally got a frame for this poster and hung it in josh's bathroom AND that joshy mcBackFat had a birthday yesterday and is officially still younger than me, that bastard! so cheers to josh for his bday!!! we celebrated with delicious cake and a veiwing of jiminy glick in lalawood! plop plop ding ding!

1.13.2006

okay so last night danielle and i met her friend joey down at the irvine improv to see christopher titus' stand-up show. freakin rad, dude. freakin' rad. i've never been to a show at the improv before, and aside from the shot glass of soda that cost three dollars and didn't include refills it was awesome.

the opener was some dude named jimmy something according to my sister. which is more of his name than i could remember... he was all right, but man titus rocked. i used to love his tv show when it was on. the funny thing about it was it was semi-autobiographical about his dysfunctional family, and everyone i knew who saw it either loved it because they could relate or hated it for whatever stupid reason i didn't really listen to...

and i was hopelessly in love with the dude who played dave, but that's another story.

the thing that i like about titus' stand-up is he doesn't just tell jokes that are funny. he tells a lot of stories about things that have happened to him and his family, he talks about more stuff that's real, that makes you laugh and then makes you think, you know? he talks about politics, but not in the way that pisses me off, where someone's all "republicans suck!" or "democrats suck!" he's just all-inclusive "isn't everyone weird?" and the way he tells it just flows - really good writing. i'm blathering. the show was hilarious and i can't do it justice.

my favorite part of the set was when he was talking about his daughter being born, and the doctor coming in right away to give her a shot. he goes on to tell us how he's completely uncomfortable with her getting shots so soon, and that he basically hasn't given her any shots in the four years she's been around now, she just sleeps in a ziploc bag. and when he's putting her to sleep in her ziploc bag, he says:

"blue and yellow make shhhhhhhhhh....."

danielle bought a t-shirt from him after the show and he was really cool and friendly and talkative; ass that i am with the camera in my purse, i ask if he'd mind if we took a pic. but then it turns out the batteries were dead. so danielle gets out her cameraphone. and by this time i feel terrible because we're completely holding up the line. but everyone was so jazzed about the show they just saw that no one cared.

he's playing at the irvine improv through sunday night - it's only twenty bucks to get in, if you have the time you have got to go. the end.

1.12.2006

so today i was on ebay screwing around looking at interesting things, and i found an auction for 13 used screenprinting screens that just needed to be cleaned out before they could be used. so i bid on it, not thinking that i would actually win but thinking that man it'd be awesome to get some screens for less than what lyon art supply sells em for. lo and behold, the used screens are mine for 6 bucks a pop! expect to see a slather of screenprinted items coming soon!!

also, i was thinking of doing a screenprint of the month sort of thing in the store, with a nifty funny thing available only for one month. does that sound like any kind of interesting to you fine folks?



chalk this tshirt design up to another night of terribly wrong jokes with steph and josh. 20 points to you for your guesses as to what a trolley stop means - get yer guesses in before midnight on friday, and if anyone that isn't danielle or michelle gets it right (cuz i think i may have told you what it means) you'll get another 100 points on top of that! AND i'll tell the all you dirty birds about the dangers of the trolley stop!

last weekend, i went on a quick little errand to target. just needed to pick up such necessities as t-shirt transfer paper, a watch, and hair dye. and as i walked down clearance row, that bunch of endcaps that always seems to be chock full of clearance goodness, i found this:



it was on clearance for $2.50, such a bargain! but i forgot to pick it up. got home that night and after talking to michelle about it we decided man it'd be fun to have a classy soda tasting party. it was very on the fly, impromtu and all of that, but chris and nikki and joshy mcbackfat were able to join in the fun and grossness. seriously, there's nothing grosser than brussel sprout soda. NOTHING. whatever you're thinking of that's grosser, you're wrong. because it just doesn't top this. nasty, nasty shit.

the most fun thing about michelle and i's parties is that it's an awesome excuse to dress up and take a slather of retarded pictures.

here's the pics from my camera

once josh, chris and nikki showed up though, we pretty much just stuck to michelle's camera so if you wanna see actual reactions to gross soda drinking, check out a smattering of pics from michelle's camera (though i think maybe too many were cut out... i'd love to get a cd of all of them please!)

1.11.2006



i don't have a new piece for illustration friday's "sea" theme this week... but i do have a thought about this painting i did almost a year ago for the art department's self portrait wall. and that thought is:

i wonder if i can fit it under my shirt when i leave on my last day.

1.09.2006

the times they are a changin' peeps. made the final decision this morning to take a very exciting job offer from the folks at mighty fine and just put in my notice at fortune fashions. i'm so very excited about the opportunity to be an artist at the place that brought the world such awesomeness as french kitty and doe!

wokka wokka doo doo yeah! the excitement is gonna make actually working for the rest of the day very very hard.

everything's coming up milhouse!!!

more exciting news by the end of the day i think, but until then can i tell you about the paintings i got hung in a boutique on fourth street this weekend? cheers to siren at 2240 East 4th Street in long beach, who's got my paintings up in the greeting card section! check em out!



1.05.2006

This is the most deeelicious freezer pizza ive ever seen!

1.04.2006

what's up! i forgot to tell y'all that i put up those teeth paintings i was working on like crazy last month! check out the painting section to see for yourself!

add to my list of new years resolutions:

* re-learn quark after not using it for like four billion years
* rent season 1 of scrubs and watch it all

keep adding your own resolutions, points will be amassed until midnight this friday night!

also, stale skittles are kind of gross and kind of not. note to self, do not buy them from the cafeteria anymore.

1.02.2006

cheers to the new year, and cheers to the commune for including us on the florida new year's countdown! i really wish josh and i could've made it over there - but april and sidewalk arts isn't so far away... things were fun here in long beach, josh and i hung out with my sisters danielle and brittanie watching such classic films as jiminy glick in lalawood, cakeboy and four rooms, and playing some medal of honor european assault! (not so much assault as it was got my ass handed to me repeatedly. i was really having an off night, i swear i kick more ass at that game normally...)

and now onto some new years business: angela daniels, stand up and take a bow! as the first winner in the yearly points contest, angela (with a whopping 16,095 points) will get a free painting of whatever she wants!

her chosen subject matter? picture a pirate ship. with mary kate and ashely olsen and angela on it. and they're making doogie howser walk the plank. the girl's done me proud, and i can't wait to start it!

and since that points screen is looking oh so blank with the rollover of the new year, leave me some of your resolutions - each one gets 10 points! my resolutions include:

* actually go to the gym instead of talking about it all the time (i really should stop making that resolution... it's been on the list for the past like 3 years and has never really worked out)
* rework this website, maybe with some fancy css shenanigans
* paint more wackiness
* do more screenprinting
* star in a broadway musical
* pay off my credit cards
* crack open those learn spanish cds that have been collecting dust on my computer desk for a year and a half now
* punch josh in the nards
* rock more
* suck less