the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

8.31.2003

The best thing about going to slasher flicks is being the only one in the theater laughing my ass off. They're just so much damn fun. Watching Jason and Freddy go at it was sorta like watching a live action Itchy and Scratchy - since there's not much that can stop them the shit they do to each other just keeps getting worse and worse. They totally could've cut all of the story and the scared kids out and just shown Freddy/Jason fight footage for like 20-30 minutes and I'd have paid the same ticket price, it was that funny.

While at the theater, I saw a preview for the next Texas Chainsaw Massacre and ick. While I love, love, love watching cheezy slasher movies (my favoritest ever being Silent Night, Deadly Night) for some reason I just can't stomach the TCM movies. I've seen maybe the first 15-20 minutes of each one. Had to stop. Just too ick.

And how old is that jerk Jason Mraz, and why the hell does he deserve to be on I Love the 70s? What a tool.

Michael Ian Black, however, is quite lovely. And on the list. The funny thing is he's on the list because I was in love with him back in the day of Viva Variety, when he was Johnny the Homicidal.. no wait - he was Johnny Blue Jeans. When I was putting together the final list I couldn't think of anything more recent that he'd worked on. ANYWAYS, (and this is related, I swear) Jen and I were instant messaging during I Love the 70s a couple of weeks ago and I asked her who that cute guy was that was so funny talking about things like Big Wheels and Pong, and she's like hold on, and when they showed him again (I kept missing the name at the bottom of the screen) she's all "oh, it's Michael Ian Black". So I'm still in love with him. We got a groovy kind of love.

It's been a pretty sweetass weekend so far - after yesterday's paint-a-thon (both my brother brandon and my sister danielle said all the living room needs now is some speed holes. I told them that was what the panic room was for. I'm thinking about joining the underground living-room racing circuit. anyone know where I can sign up for something like that?) and the lack of sleep last night my body just totally shut down and refused to do anything worthwhile. Got up early cuz I couldn't sleep, probably spent a bazillion hours on the phone upsetting my mom and then chatting with sibs.. I finally got dressed around 12:30 or so and went to make out with Puddin' for a while. Then she took a chunk of skin off one of my fingers and I decided it was time to go. Went grocery shopping (where I pissed off some fellow shoppers by chatting on the phone with Chris while pushing a cart), came home, talked with the sibs some more, found out 28 Days Later isn't showing anywhere in the area anymore so I went to F vs J instead.

Now I'm home, I just took out my horror movie enthusiasm on a helpless green pepper while weilding a huge kitchen knife and wearing a hockey mask... so yeah. Things are good. Let's hear it for dance fever, baby!

Oh yeah... and I'm sick of wasps trying to get in my car - it freaks my shit out bad when they do that while I'm driving.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home