the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

6.24.2003

oh, ploploploploplop. i've been so busy. much too busy to be bothered by capital letters tonight. also much too busy to be bothered with pants right now. which is possibly something you could have lived a full and happy life not knowing. but, you know....

so welcome back, here's a run-down of what's been going on since we last heard from our hero (uh, that'd be me.). i'm warning you, this is a long-ass post. and dead men tell no tales.

tuesday: worked. went home. did laundree. wished there was a new episode of 24. barfed when i heard comedy central's decided to keep the man show around with new suckass hosts since the hosts who made the show great have moved on to bigger and better things like the late show that jimmy kimmel's got going now. since the show started (back in january i want to say), i've seen a total of 15 minutes and it's freakin great. but i digress. went to bed early in preparation for much sleep deprivation later in the week.

wednesday: worked. went home, changed, scarfed down a little food so as to avoid the terrible bitchiness that comes over me when i've skipped a meal. called my sister, was on the phone with her waaaaay too long, went to the p, found out leslie had already gone to terrys, got weird looks from people as i booked it down main street. played some volleeballs. got some crazy pictures of blood and ice cream and ate some gutter candy in celebration of the miss wis parade. decided that if i'm not too old or too graduated from school next year i'm totally gonna be in the pageant. went home, cleaned house for a couple of hours, went to bed.

thursday: got up way too freakin early, drove to milwaukee to pick michelle up. drove back to oshkosh, went through the outlet store, bought a couple of things for the neice and nephew. picked up jen for lunch at culvers. drove some business types back inside the restaurant with our hooray-it's-beautiful-outside antics and renditions of the hatchandati laser center jingle while eating al fresco. took jen back to work. went to crappleton mall, where we decided to sew michelle's prom dress instead of buying one. got a couple of supplies at joann's, drove home. introduced michelle to the joy of cheezyass aerobics class. went to the grocery store to buy provisions for dinner friday. made big fat mexi salad while michelle cut out her pattern pieces. sewed a bajillion darts in her dress. went to bed but didn't (couldn't) sleep.

friday: went to work all zombified from the lack of sleep. got out a little late-ish, ran home, threw the lasagna in the oven, ran out to rent ringu, came home and put dinner together. ate with jen and michelle, watched the movie, which was really good and fun but not nearly as scary as the american version. went to the p, made some asscorn and had a couple of drinks. went to the lounge to see adam's band play, rejoiced in mr. roboto, which is one of the best songs ever. went to dennys, had some water. jen and michelle and i went back to my place and watched run lola run, which is one of my favoritest movies ever. let's recap how many countries we celebrated friday night: watched japanese movie, ate mexican salad, ate italian lasagna, jen had some irish guiness at the bar, ate some american popcorn (or asscorn, if you will, and i will every night. sometimes twice), watched german movie. tons of fun for everyone! was in bed around 2:30, 3 or so.

saturday, oh saturday: woke up blissfully late. the day was filled with things which aren't important. let's just skip to prom. many thanks to the putter-onners of said party; it was an insanely good time. and i'd be all for winter formal - if this becomes a regular bi-annual event i vote that acdc's "big balls" be the official song.

my sister's dress turned out freaking hot, partly because it was versayce. i was super happy with how mine turned out, too. i originally had a corset i had made to go with my big fat poufy skirt, and i had problems for a good long while deciding on whether to go with it or my sweetass new yum pop shirt. finally the outside temperature and jen's encouragement won out and the corset was put away for another day. (like, say, the miss oshkosh pageant next year.) had some slumber partyish type fun with my sister doing nails and such, then met jen and her mystery men for dinner. my lifelong dreams (i'm being serious here) of going to taco bell in a prom dress were finally realized. then on to sick and pave's wonderful alcohol dept. for... um.... dessert, and back to jen's for some pre-party partying on the fire escape which was followed by prom pictures.

that entire night was quite possibly the most fun i've ever had in one night. pedro and sir ween (both very fitting names, thanks to jen) were the best prom dates in the world. guys like that give me lots of hope that i'll one day end up with someone who can not only keep up with me but who has a ball in the process. we all danced like the insane crazy bastards we are for a huge part of the night, and hit the wall around midnight or so, getting very sleepy. walked over to oblios for a beer before calling it a night, and holy crap here comes the second wind. so we ended up at perkins, eating various forms of late night snackage before we all went and crashed on jen's floor.

and i thought we were being pretty quiet about it, but apparently pedro heard me and my sister wake up a couple of times early sunday morning, start laughing our asses off about something, and fall back to sleep.

sunday: left jen and the menfolk to go home and clean up for more slinger fun. if i write any more about that you'll fall asleep at your computer, and no one wants that. it leaves nasty keyboard marks in your cheek. or your ass, depending on how you sleep/use your computer. came home early afternoon and just chilled on the couch. in my slightly hungover state i hung up on my friend chris when he called, because i was all surly and tired and shit. later me and michelle ate some hot dogs, went to the nest, and then came back home when michelle started feeling sick. watched catch me if you can. which, i say, should be required veiwing for everyone. do you concur? cuz i concur. in fact, i'm in complete concurrence.

monday: plop on work. especially work on monday. went to medieval times - i mean friar tucks - for lunch, and the food was good (except for jens lets-just-slather-some-cheese-on-this-fake-crab disaster) but the wait for said food and then the bill was wayyyyy too long. so we were back at work a little late for our meeting, which was fine since bosslady is never on time anyways. got a ton of changes on art that should have been done and sent like a month ago. but oh well, what the hell, right? it's what i get paid to do, and it's really not all that bad. after work michelle and i got some dinner and then decided to go bowling. because i'd already been to the oshkosh lanes i told her i'd take her to the lanes on main street. closed. so we went to the tio lanes on oregon. closed. on to the place near bowen. closed. so we ended up at the oshkosh lanes anyways. towards the end of the second game we started playing fate bowling - it goes like this. you say something like this to other person before they take their turn: "if you don't get a strike or a spare on this frame, you're going to lose your job." it's tons of laughs. especially when the one you screw up on is "if you miss that last pin you're never gonna get any ever again." after bowling we went to target and got a copy of boggle, which is one of our all time favorite games to play together. she must have been practicing, because i usually kick her ass, but this time our scores were very close.

tuesday (that'd be today): got to work way early because of the need to leave to take me sistah to the port of air. the art changes went really well, and i swear to god every day there's more about prom to discuss with jen. that's how you know it was a good party, right? anyways, skipped lunch, which sucked, but left at 1:30, which ruled. picked up pictures at walgreens and hot damn there's some funny prom shit i'm gonna be carrying around in my purse for the next couple of days. then michelle and i drove down to milwaukee, where we attempted to go to the safe house - but curses to the mapquest, it's directions were wrong and we didn't have a map of the city handy and were low on time. so we drove around looking for somewhere else to eat, ending up at a denny's we found near gen. mitchell airport. food was really really good by that point. got michelle to the airport okay, then came home and watched the wonder that is felicity before driving up to crappleton with jen to pull the wool over american eagles' eyes. i got some happy new clips for me hair, hooray!

see? i really was busy.

and now i'm home, i had some ice cream, and i'm all relaxed and chillin' like a villian or bob dylan or something like that. speaking of, i'm gonna get back to that. stay tuned for some crazy fun prom pics on my blog in the next couple of days.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home