the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

3.23.2003

Mr. Pickles!?!? (holy crap this site is funny)

How many times has this happened to me… sit down to watch the SNL, get through 2 skits, fall into an almost comatose sleep, wake up an hour and some minutes later to the goodbye-ish type music, and the host thanking everyone and blah, blah, blah.

But this time I was pissed – I woke up a little earlier than normal and caught the second song the fighters of the foo played (which was good!), and the last skit (also good!), and then Christopher Walken thanking SNL. And thanking Steve Martin, and thanking Will Ferrell, and thanking Jim Carrey; I’m thinking holy crap, what kind of awesome episode did I miss?!?! DAMMIT!

Then I remembered the blessed vcr, which was taping said episode because my mom’s lameass boyfriend doesn’t like SNL and if he’s at the house he commandeers the television, leaving Danielle with nothing but his shitty tv choices to watch. We’re both Chris Walken fans, and she was upset at possibly missing this rerun. Hence the recording.

Anyways, so I watched it this morning and I am totally more jazzed about Steve Martin hosting the Oscars.

Now I’ve got my new cheap-ass copy of Jawbreaker playing in the background while I do laundree and type in my bloggy blog. (this running commentary brought to you by NBC Sports.)

A word to the wise: roller-skating is tons of fun for everyone. I swear the Fox Valley Roller Rink was like going back in time, being 10 again at the Fountain Valley Family Fun Center. Same dark room with flashing disco-y lights, same mix of 70s, 80s and new songs that the kids go re-re over, same show-off asshole skaters.

It was so flashback I was almost upset none of the preteens or teens asked me to skate when they cleared the floor for “moonlight couples skate”.

And I think we were almost at the verge of the quater-betting point, which would've resulted in me asking some 5 year old boy to skate with me.

Another cool thing was the sweetass chandelier thing that looked like a bunch of half-eaten suckers, and the old video games. They had Carn-evil - I don't know if you've ever played it, but it's one of those zombie shooting games and it's awesome and I haven't played since maybe it came out in the arcades. I was all excited because there's a code you can put in where all the zombies are wearing party hats. But I couldn't remember the code, and then the machine ate our quarters, so suck it.

I just realized something funny – I type my blog in Word because my computer likes to crash if I spend too much time typing on blogger.com, and the spell check isn’t trying to fix my use of re-re. It’s really a word. Alert the people.

So anyways, it was hilarious and fun and I almost won the limbo contest. By almost won I mean I hit the pole really hard with my head when I got disqualified. The two guys that won had this weird freaky matrix-y thing going where they stuck one leg out and leaned way forward. I gotta learn how to do that. Jen and I are contemplating making the rounds of all the roller rinks in the area, of which there’s a surprising amount. I’m counting 4-5 within a 20 minute drive from my house. That’s almost excessive. I’m not complaining. Just saying that’s a lot for a town that doesn’t also have a drive-in theater.

Before I go, a word to all of you pre-teens and teens out there. This is very, very important fashion advice, so pay attention. Maybe write it down on a post-it and stick it to your bathroom mirror or something so you don’t forget. You can not wear a regular bra with halter tops. CAN NOT. Get a halter top bra, or go without. If you don’t have a halter-type bra and your parents are uncomfortable with you going braless, then wear something else. To illustrate this, go rent Slums of Bevery Hills. Please. It’s for the good of the country.

So I’m out, I think my laundree needs attention. Later gators.

Sincerely,
The Rollerslut

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home