Pete, I’ve been thinking. And I have a solution to one of your most irritating problems. When I was a kid and I was learning addition and subtraction, I just didn’t get it. My mom wanted all of her kids to be the absolute smartest in the class, so she bought these flashcards. And she would run through these flash cards with my sister, who didn’t have any problems. Then she would go through them with me. And she, like you, would get frustrated. (given, it’s a different situation because I was 6) She would get so worked up over it that it would usually end with her screaming the flash cards at me and me trying not to cry.
But boy howdy did I learn my math.
So buy some flash cards, and go through them with the 18yr old and scream the equations at him. I know you’ve got the voice for it. It’ll scare him into learning, or your money back.
In other news, I fuckin’ love snow. There are some things that have always struck me as magic, including my 2 year old neice and any rendition of “The Rainbow Connection”. Snow’s on that list. That little teeny tiny snowflakes can join forces to completely cover everything and make me feel like I’m 10 again… I wanted to go play (translation: be stupid) when I walked outside yesterday, but had to go to work. Jen and I made up for it at lunch by going to Taco Hell. After eating we went outside, ran around like idiots in the snow next to the parking lot and threw snowballs as hard as we could at my car. The looks we got from people who didn’t realize it was my car… priceless. One guy actually wouldn’t go inside, I think out of fear that his vehicle was next. And my docs have no treads on them whatsoever, so as long as I’m careful (almost never) I can slide along the sidewalk like Gumby. We're hittin' garbage hill this weekend sometime with ghetto cardboard box sleds, joy!
Now if only we could have snow in 70-degree winters.
A girl can dream.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home