new garden pics and uhhh... we got chickens!
ok so some major updates in our backyard:

our carrots got harvested last weekend! they definitely could have stayed in the ground longer, but we figured they wouldn't get much longer since our planters are so shallow. so we'll save carrots for another time (or big deep pots next year!), but these little guys were totally tasty!

and our sugar snap peas have started kickin out some peas - they're so freaking good! it's kinda crazy how tall these plants have gotten. we're thinkin about planting some more so we can have peas to share with friends or freeze or something like that.
but the biggest news in our backyard last weekend was...

WE TOTALLY GOT CHICKENS!
the one on the left is martha stewart. an easter egger type chicken, she'll in theory lay eggs that are blue, green, pink or brown. it's a good thing. the one on the right is paula deen - they said she was a silkie but we're not so sure, we're thinking she may be a hybrid of some kind.
and yes. we named em that because they're the dirtiest birds around! if we'd gotten a third it woulda been named oprah.
they're old enough to be laying eggs, but nothing yet. we read they'll most likely start molting because of the new home and then start again when they're done molting, so we'll see what happens! they're super cute, we've let em run around the backyard and they are crazy wily when it comes to trying to get em back in the coop!
check out the full flickr set here, including pics of the sweet chicken coop josh's uncle donnie helped us build!
Labels: family, fun, gardening, martha stewart, show and tell

3 Comments:
OMG--chickens!!! I love the names too :)
Very cool. Love da dirty birdies.
Mmmmmm... chicken.
Tastes like chic... oh yeah! ;)
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home