don't believe everything you read on the internet...
contrary to what i read on the internets earlier today, the sun is not a preferable method of burning a screen for screenprinting. i had that screen sitting in the bright bright sun for 2.5 hours and it still hadn't finished burning all the way, and it was too late by the time i realized that.
i have 2 more screens to try with using the regular photoflood bulb method, i'm crossing my fingers they work cuz otherwise i'm hanging up my screenprinting hat forever! or at least til i get some more photo emulsion so i can get the hang of this thing. it's actually kind of cool having something kick my ass like this, i wanna beat it SO BAD. like a really hard level of tetris or something. GARRRRR!!!
Labels: rants

3 Comments:
it's a technique worht taking the time to perfect. i think it's so fun even though i havent done it in months
seriously - i'm loving it, but it's so frustrating when you spend hours on it and it doesn't come out... here's what i've learned so far:
-expose the screen to the photoflood bulb for at least 35 minutes
-use hot water to rinse
-the sun sucks
-glass on top of the vellum when you're exposing it makes it turn out much better
-neil diamond is a god
i had 8 designs laid out on those last 2 screens yesterday and 7 of em turned out which is a much better ratio than anything else i've done so far. which means bad mutual funder will soon be available for reals!!! hooray!!!
i used warm/hot water... to answer your question twenty days later
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home