the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

7.02.2006

strike a pose there's nothing to it



i feel like i may have already used that title in reference to internet photos sometime... whoops. but i can't help it if our dog is the most photogenic one at the dog park.

about 3-4 weeks ago when we first brought jimmy the greek home, he was completely spooked by the mirrored closet doors at our place. like we'd wake up in the middle of the night to him quietly growling at the other dog in the room. after a couple of days though, he kinda just understood that it was nothing to worry about. until last night, when he decided he was creeped out again. this dog spent the entire night growling and barking at his reflection across the room. i feel so bad for josh, who had to be up at 5am to get ready for work. i always thought "no rest for the wicked" was just a phrase. apparently, not so much.

this morning i went for coffee with my sister michelle. we wanted to check out that coffee place across the street from park pantry, right? so we get some tasty coffee and pastries and sat at a table outside. about 15 minutes later two girls come by with their puppy. they get some coffee and sit at the empty table next to us. very friendly couple, one of them was wearing a rainbow necklace if you know what i mean. and their puppy looked just like jimmy so i ask what kind he is, and we just start chatting, and every time i say something i inadvertently use the word "we" meaning josh and i, right? like "oh we brought him home like 3 weeks ago," and "we're looking for good dog-friendly restaurants around town"... i slowly start realizing that they have no idea who josh is, and that the "we" refers to my sister and me as a couple. because long beach has a very large alternative lifestyle-like community.

we did what anyone else would do in that situation - when we finished our coffee, said goodbye, and threw our cups away, we put our arms around each other as we crossed the street to our cars. and said very quietly "dude, we're so gay now."

4 Comments:

Blogger Trav said...

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That story was TOO DAMN FUNNY!
You and sis were DEFFFNLLY the LLLLLLLLLLL WORD!

7/03/2006 06:31:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

HAH. My cousin and I do that...because I'm always talking about Joshua and I (hey, I'm noticing something here). FUNNY.

Anyway, nice to meet you.

S. Lynn
Lynnbee.net

7/03/2006 06:09:00 PM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

AHAHAHAHAHAH love it lynnbee! welcome to the jackassery, i hit ya up as a friend on livejournal...

happy fourth everyone!

7/04/2006 10:49:00 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I friended you back. =) I just cleared it out so sad to say, there isn't much to read.

Happy belated 4th!

S. Lynn
Lynnbee.net

7/05/2006 01:52:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home