the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

10.13.2005

oh thank god. i thought i missed the oc last week, and it turns out it wasn't even on.

can i tell you about how the whole picture framing thing leaves me flummoxed more than 90% of the time? i was pondering how to do the wiring thing that's required for the stuff going to ye olde art school, cuz i've done it like once and it looked wicked lame. so i went poking around on the internets, and i found this very helpful how-to which told me that the last time i did a picture-hanging wire i did it all wrong, and that's why it looked awful. so cheers to being much more prepared this time around! cuz knowledge is power!

also, remember way back in april when i had that minor fender bender? it boggles the mind that it took this long for my insurance to catch up to me, and goddamn you'd think i ran over the pope, because instead of the $80 a month i normally pay, they now want $150. WTF!!! they tell me the accident, paired with my speeding ticket from oshkosh a couple of years ago made me lose my good driver discount. and that the accident was one with injuries!!?! WHAT!!! i've been on the phone with my insurance almost 24-7, pestering them about how outrageous that is, since it was just my car scraping down a portion of the other car's door. things are slowly, slowly, slowly turning around in my favor. last night the chick i talked to gave me $10 off my total payment a month if i signed up for renters insurance. and the guy i talked to this morning said the injury part of the accident was dropped from the claim just a couple of days ago because the car i hit, those people said they were injured but they never actually went to the doctor. if they'd gone to the doctor, that'd be completely preposterous. cuz like i said. my car scraped the side of their car. they were going like 25 mph, i was coming away from the curb. if there were any injuries i'll eat my hat.

anyhow, my speeding ticket drops from my record at the end of december. the rate won't be $80 again for a long time, but we're slowly working it down from $150. slowly. *phew*. cuz i dunno about you but this girl cannot afford that extra $70 towards car insurance a month!

aaaaaaaaaaand i'm over this whole working thing. is it time to go home yet?

3 Comments:

Blogger Steph Calvert said...

i thought of you when i got off the phone with them, and i'm dreaming of a white christmas and low low insurance rates!

10/13/2005 02:44:00 PM  
Blogger swirlogirl said...

that is just bonker though really. especially sinces it's been like a year!

10/13/2005 04:27:00 PM  
Blogger Steph Calvert said...

and that ticket was like AGES ago!

10/14/2005 06:42:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home