i want to stop overthinking everything all the time, stop worrying about everything so goddam much. my end-of-year resolution is to just shut the fuck up for a while and not be so dumb.
here's the story about the good eye - in our line of work, that'd be as art professionals and crap, there are certain phrases that you hear quite a bit. things like "oooh, that's a nice layout" or "i want you to take this print and don't copy it exactly but make it look just like this" or "fuck that sucks, what were you drinking that morning when you made this?"
out of all the phrases you tend to hear from time to time, the following is my favorite one.
the other day i was working on a cad - which is basically you take a bunch of drawings of tees with art on them, and you put them on an 11 x 17 sheet of paper with art number info, delivery info, and so forth on there. and when i finished this particular cad and handed it in, they brought it back with some other art numbers and said hey add these to it, too. so i did, and printed it out, and realized that all of the original shirts had been long sleeved, the name of the cad was long sleeve tees, and the new shirts i'd just added were all short sleeves. i asked my cubemate about it, and she goes to ask the art director. he says "oh yeah, those should be on long sleeved tees. tell steph she's got a good eye."
cubemate comes back and tells me that and i just start cracking up.
because yes, i do have a good eye. along with this here bad one.
the best part is it's not the first time someone's said it to me without knowing i don't really have two eyes.
in other news, tonight is the long-awaited return of that fuckin awesome mexican salad recipe i found a while back. it will be served with some tacos and beer cuz that's what classy ladies do when they have family over to sit on the floor for dinner in their furniture-free apartment!
speaking of which... i'm buying a bed next weekend or maybe the weekend after that. this, my friends, is news. because i haven't had a bed, a real bed, since early 2001. it's been matresses on the floor and couches and park benches and airbeds since then. so that's exciting.
and i'm taking wednesday off.
and jenn sucks!

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home