i feel weird about writing about this weekends ups and downs, so i'm not going to. ask me about it later if you'd like. i will share this slightly amusing anecdote (okay, it's not that amusing. maybe just interesting? mildly? did you just call me fat?) that happened at the reception saturday afternoon...
she really didn't talk much when other people were at the table with us, but when we were alone, she totally reminded me of someone i knew not too long ago - very "i'm checking you out for my friend"ish. but too the point where you knew it was a front, that she was insecure and maybe uncomfortable about sitting with me?
she asks if i work at the same place as him. "no, i'm an artist," i tell her. we talk about what i do for a little while, and then i ask if she works with the boy.
"no, we went out for three years, and we're really good friends," she says.
and i had no idea how to answer that... i mean, i don't care about him having girl friends, i don't care about him being friends with exes, but the way she said it, like within 45 seconds of being alone with me, was so very "i was here first and maybe i still have dibs or some highschool crap like that so back off".
she seemed nice enough, though, and we kept chatting. and about 45 seconds later she's asking about where we met and such, then in an almost condescending tone, she says "so you're kind of dating?" and i answer with "yes. we're dating." thinking to myself "there's no kind of about it, jerkface". and then a couple of sentences later when i mention that he's a good guy she's all "yes he is, i dated a good guy."
we didn't hang out together too much longer, she had to go to some concert or something, who the hell cares. nikki walks up after she sees her leave and is all "um, chris and i saw you guys talking... do you know who that was?" and i'm all "uh yeah, she informed me about 30 seconds after we were alone." and nikki just kind of laughs.
it was just weird, because the whole time, i was like "whutever, you're kinda lame" and not "oh holy crap is she still into him". is it possible that i'm calming down some? dear lord i hope so.
oh and happy birthday to myself, cuz i rock the casbah like no one else and i outrank ron perlman!!! he can suck it!