the hearts and laserbeams blog!

recently blogger decided we can't publish my blog to my own website anymore so here we are! pardon the dust, and please visit us online at www.heartsandlaserbeams.com!

hearts and laserbeams is the wacky good-times art and design by me, steph calvert. i team up with robots, cupcakes, and stick people to show people art isn’t all about seriousness, missing ears, and deep thoughts; it can actually be tons of fun.

5.30.2004

apparently i'm super behind the times, and various forms of degrassi have been on tv for quite some time now... i was just introduced to it last night at about 1am. if you haven't seen it, lemme bring you up to speed. if you've got swanky cable like my sis and her hubby have, there's this kids channel called noggin. and after a certain point in the evening they switch over to more teen type programming, and they call themselves "the n". which is pretty lame.

but i digress. degrassi is like boston public, 90210, and the oc all rolled up in one. translation? it's ultra trashy and pretty lame. which equals instant addiction for all. ended up watching a marathon of it with good company until 3am, when noggin decided to give us a you don't have to go home but you can't stay here by switching back to shows a 3yr old might enjoy. after flipping channels a little more and stopping on zorro the gay blade for a few minutes we admitted defeat and vowed to return to "the n" for more trashy high school tv very, very soon.

also, i'm almost embarassed to admit this... but on friday i rode in a honda element. you know, the uglee-ass box car. the inside of the car actually is pretty nice, roomy, blah blah blah. but i will never ever accept the hideous exterior, because i'm a shallow, shallow jerk the end.

we now return you to your regularly scheduled slackday, already in progress.

5.28.2004

okay, so this morning i tried to blog before work, and i realized i was running late and i think i closed the window before it was actually done publishing. love that.

basically what you missed was i got a job, cha cha cha! it's insane at the moment, things at the new place move at a breakneck pace and trying to learn and keep up at the same time is a bit tough. give me a week or so, though, and i'll get up to speed and all'll be well, you know what i'm sayin? some cool things about the job - it's not a huge horrible commute, just a 45 minute one in bad traffic... it's got stability up the wazoo, so if i wanna stay fifty years maybe i could... i'm not really in a creative position, but this job'll give me tons of background in how the artists set up their files and there's room for advancement when i get the hang of things... so it's exciting and ultra-relieving that the bills'll get paid. less stress is always nice.

in other news, safe travels to maria as she makes her trek back north, and many thanks for suggesting the cheesecake factory the other night. dear lord just typing that makes me want more. *drool*

another first this evening... me and michelle went and got manicures for the first time ever, and it was kinda fun. even though the ladies at the place hated us and we'll never go back there again. it was still cool. everything feels more girly when you got the french manicure thing going. try it out, then report back here.

and that's about all's i got that's interesting tonight... tune in tomorrow when i share some craziness from the possible new cell phone! in the meantime, go to bed!!!

5.24.2004

welcome to the slacky mcslackerson chronicles!

i'm supposed to be looking up how to deal with .iso file formats, and plooooooo i don't wanna and you can't make me so suck it!

have another interview tomorrow with a place that may or may not be challenging enough, but the pay's there... i really hope guess comes through because i'd be learning, but this other place wouldn't drain me creatively during the day, so i'd be more inclined to do my own thing at home (if i can suppress the urges to go hang with friends instead, that is).

also on my mind this evening is the menfolk, and the thought was expressed this afternoon that i come on too strong... i have no idea how to take that, you know? i've been myself, that's all. it's who i am, can't help it. i haven't called the kid every five minutes or anything like that, i haven't shown up unannounced or proclaimed that we would be having babies by next week. i just like the guy is all, and i thought flirting was okay and normal and blah blah blah but maybe i'm wrong? i'm just supposed to sit back and hope that the kid likes me? i'm not that kind of girl, sorry. and i'm inclined to ignore the comment because number one i can't think of one thing that was over the top and number two the complaint didn't come from the kid himself and number three ron perlman and i are in love and are having fifty bazillion babies so there.

so what are your thoughts on this crap? would you rather know some off the wall chick likes you, or would you rather she shut the hell up and left you alone?

maybe of some importance is that i'm kinda freaked out about the job crap lately, and if this comment had been made at another time it probably wouldn't have bugged so much the end.

5.23.2004

yesterday was good times, yo. my nephew jacob turned two, which completely blows my mind. we went to chuck e. cheese - if you miss the old chuck e. cheese on mcfadden, complete with the huge hunk of cheeze that you could climb around in, raise your hand right now.

yeah, see, with that many hands in the air, you wonder why they ever changed it in the first place. michelle and i got to talking about all the cool stuff the place had when we were kids... we always wasted a ton of money in the strobelight room. show of hands, who remembers the strobelight room? that was some awesomely fun crap.

came home and did the opening presents thing - jacob opened his little tykes dinosaur flashlight first, that makes roaring noises every time you turn the light on... he could've cared less that there were any other presents, he loved that flashlight so much. the awesome thing is hailey has the same flashlight in hippo form, and since hippos don't really have a stereotypical sound that you teach kids, it just has a really dorky silly laugh that happens when you use the flashlight. this morning i was waking up on the couch to this:

"ROOOOOOAR!!!"
"UH HUH HUH HUH HUH..."
"ROOOOOOAR!!!"
"UH HUH HUH HUH HUH..."

really, to get the full effect of how hilarious it sounded you should go to toys r us and check em out. good good stuff.

later on i got together with ann and maria over jamba juice smoothies and had an awesomely good time catching up on current events and conundrums and blah-ha-ha-ing about funny old stories from grade school/high school. oh and drooling over the beautiful piece of machinery that is ann's new car. drool, i say! DROOL!!! DO IT!!! so anyhow, good times to be had by all.

and working at dland today wasn't as bad as i had anticipated, but it's still no substitute for crackin down on getting a "real" job. i have an appt. tomorrow morning with the place bgosh signs you up at when you get laid off, and i really don't know how much good they'll actually do me, since they deal more with how to find jobs on the internet and things of this nature (to be said in your best schwarzenegger voice)... seems like stuff i already know. i'm only going on the off-chance they'll have some good tidbit of info that'll magically lead to me getting a kickass job.

why am i still up? i'm going to bed, leave me alone!!!

5.22.2004

man i've gotten so, so, so horrible about updating, reading blogs, visiting my millions of job websites...

it's been busy around here, i swear. but it's coolin' down a little bit... i'm all trained and orientated at dland and start my first real shift tomorrow. wheeeee. it'll pay some of the bills until something good comes along, and that's cool, but it won't pay all the bills, and that's uncool. so there's a little stressin out takin place. i've got some freelancing coming on monday, too, though, so to steal from our girl martha it's a good thing.

had an interview with skechers about a week ago, did an art project that they liked, but no dice they passed on me because i didn't have enough skaterboy tshirt experience for their tastes. unfortunate, but understandable. had an interview with guess on monday, did an art project for them, and waiting for the verdict with baited breath. i hope, i hope, i hope it works out. or i'd also be totally fine with paul frank finally calling me back, that'd be hot. dunno. so the word on the job front is there's been some promising leads but nothing's actually turned into a full-time job yet.

in super awesome news, my car's got cali plates, and i'm waiting for my license to arrive in the mail... ended up i didn't have to take the written test at all, cuz my ca license still had a year on it before it expired. so yay me, right? and when i went to get my new photo taken for it the chick behind the camera started laughing her ass off. and then she says oh that's funny, we'll keep that one. so i don't know if that's a good or a bad thing. but it's a thing, and that's a start or something.

it's been pretty sweet catching up with people i haven't seen in a while, too.

overall california's where it's at. i'm a little worried about the transition as a whole, though. it's hard to go from uber-independant chick to needing to sleep on my sister's couch. it's hard to adjust to depending on others to get by. it's hard to get excited about going to work tomorrow. i know everything will work itself out and all that crap, it's just a matter of time, keep your chin up and think positive and all that b.s., blah blah blah, but it's still hard. i want to not worry all the time.

and you want to go rent super troopers. you just don't know it yet. i saw it on video a couple of nights ago and it was hilarious.

also, there's a brother bear show at dca, and while my training group was taking a tour of that park they mentioned the show like fifty times and every time they said it i wanted to yell at the top of my lungs "I ALWAYS WANTED A BROTHER BEAR!!! I BEAR ATE MY PARENTS!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAA CHA CHA CHA PLOP PLOP PLOPLOPLOP!!!!" and just leave.

i gotta say the best part about being at dland is the massive backstage tours we took over the last week. it was superinteresting and crap the end. my sister's standing over my shoulder making stirring macaroni noises like it's typing noises and it's just gross. ew. type type type type type moo. okay i'm out. i always wanted a brother bear, bitches.

5.19.2004

okay, so it's really late in terms of having to get up at 6ish for dland tomorrow, but i just wanted to share the weirdest sentence i've ever seen:

gwenyth paltrow gives birth to apple.

go back and read it again, forgetting that that's what she named her kid. okay goodnight.

5.14.2004

dear diary,

i love my new computer.

and i love california.

i'm off to set more crap up and install some programs and so on and so forth, so i'll regale you with tales of the trip and everything else later. until then, you can suck it!

sin-cerely,
steph gogoblatz, md