A few years ago, I read about a study that was done that put the 50 states in order according to the quality of driving contained within. Last on the list, with the worst drivers, was Georgia and then California. Having lived in both places for a good chunk of time I can honestly get behind both claims.
I don't know where Wisconsin fell on that list, but I swear to god it better have been right there with CA and GA.
This is a very important message to the guy who purposefully almost plowed headfirst into my car tonight while I was coming home from bgosh.
If you are stopped at, for instance, the intersection of Jackson and Pearl while heading east at around 8:30 at night and you happen to notice a driver stopped at that same light but heading in the opposite direction has a couple of lights on but not the main headlights, it is a good idea to flash your headlights a couple of times to helpfully remind them to turn their lights on.
Seeing as that approximate time is dusk, and not pitch black out, you probably will see some movement in the other car as the driver tries to rectify the problem.
And usually POW! the other car's lights will magically turn on! You are so helpful!
HOWEVER, if the other driver's lights do not go on, maybe there's something wrong with the headlights - say, a blown fuse.
In this case, where the other driver's lights do not go on, it is not, I repeat not, in anyone's best interest for you to drive directly towards that partially headlightless car in an effort to emphasize that the other driver should turn their goddam headlights on, and then swerve out of the way at the last second. That is not helpful, it is asshole.
Also, I could've been that gang member from the urban legend, ready to jack the next car that flashed its headlights at me.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home